the first one


I pretty much mowed weeds where necessary so I cut a Japanese cedar today.

 

It was actually the first time to do it in my own Satoyama land.

 

I was tensed up a bit this morning, so I took a walk in the forest and told the goddess of tree and mountain secretly.  I can’t tell you the details, but I thanked them for the past and the future, and told them that I will not waste, and use every tiny bit of the lives that I will take.

 

The importance of facing the nature and communicate with it is always in my mind. 

 

Louis Kahn, a famous architect, said to think like a brick, what it wants to be.  The words still teaches me, a logger, something even now.

My tense was eased down so I cut the first tree.

 

Its diameter was 50 cm (20 inch), about 50 years old.

The cutting itself takes only a few minutes, and the big tree went down with rumbling sound of the ground. 

In my Satoyama land lie almost 100 Japanese cedar trees.  Remains of the time when planting cedar tree was promoted nationwide, maybe to be used for house building.

 

I fell in love with this land for many reasons and one of them was the cedars being planted all over the land.  Promise to use the precious tree with my heart.

 

The tree will be used for a log tree, which a friend of mine asked me to make (“creating things with log”).