To Live at Satoyama


It’s been nearly 10 months since I began working in our own field. The work is not even half way through, but the land is getting better and better day by day.

 

Unlike before, gentle breeze would be touching my body through the land, sunshine would light my head through the forest and I feel the forest is regaining its original color again. I took part in it working in the field.

 

Surrounded by 100-year-old or 200-year-old trees and feeling the sun shining through, I feel something well up within my heart.

 

I am sometimes moved by the bits of nature responding to me and what I’d done.

People feel good if they feel things are natural and people don’t feel good if they feel things are not natural. People would feel good in lively forest and in lively Satoyama.

 

When I first visited the field, to be honest, I did not think “Wow, what a beautiful nice place that makes me feel good!” But lately, I do.

  

It makes me wonder the land may be getting back to what it was before, the natural condition it used to enjoy. I would be delighted if it is.

My long for living in Satoyama is living in the nature in the way it should be. But I used to think in a different way. I thought my work is all done when I renovate the old house and do not need to work in the surrounding nature.

 

Now I think of the old house and the surrounding nature as a whole and they are not separable. I now feel renovating it in very neat and comfortable place to live does not complete my work unless I make the whole field neat and comfortable.

 

That is why I named this site Satoyama DIY, not Old House DIY.

There are lots of styles of living in the nature, and my way of thinking can be one of them. Work in the field naturally connected how I would like to be living and the nature.

 

Small flowers blooming quietly but beautifully or the sunshine through the forest easing me...these nature motions stir up my soul and I had never felt something like that before.

 

I take care of them and the nature gives back what it can, so the nature is a mirror of your heart and how much you care for them. I think that is why it’s worth doing Satoyama DIY.

The days in Canada when I learned how to build a log house and the days in Satoyama make me realize living in the nature harmonically gives us chance to nurture a heart that appreciates peace and nature.

 

Maybe that is a hint to life in happiness.

 

It’s only been 10 months and there are tons of things to get done but the ten months strengthened my commitment for life in happiness and bringing the beautiful nature in this Satoyama again.

 

I would like to let you know what happens after I achieved.

 

Thank you for reading the blog, the only way of sharing my monologue. I do my work in the field most often alone and has no chance to share.