A joy to make


I learned the fun of making in Canada.

 

Log house is a house where logger builds and lives while (s)he works in the mountain. They are not carpenters so anyone can build a log house if (s)he learns the technique.

 

Days in Canada were very simple. Cut the trees and make a house out of them in the forest.

 

Not only the knowledge and the technique of building a log house but I learned to enjoy the whole process of learning about trees and making a log house in the nature with log house school mates.

 

Scotland, France, Denmark, Spain and Japan...people gathered with one aim to work harmonically in the nature from all over the globe. We lived together and made one log house together.

 

Handling a log deepened my bonds with nature. It brought back the nature I left behind somewhere in my daily life.

 

The experience in Canada, the hard working days and the fun memories with my classmates, is the fundamentals of my Satoyama DIY days.